Hello! My Name Is Melissa

While on a recent vacation to Portugal’s Azores islands, I purchased a pair of Melissa Vinyl T-strap wedges in grape purple – and I’m hooked. The Brazilian company is the original purveyour of the jelly shoe and for 28 years has been making fun, sexy, cute, comfortable and candy-scented shoes that are available all over the world.

I know that you’re probably hesitant to give plastic shoes a try because of the dreaded blisters that your jelly shoes gave you when you were a kid, even though you never took them off damn it. But Melissa shoes are made with their patented MEFLEX™ material that molds to the shape of your feet so they’re always the perfect fit! Further proof that these are grown-up jelly shoes, Melissa has collaborated in the past with designers and artists such as Jean Paul Gaultier, Karim Rashid and Alexandre Herchcovitch. The latest ooh- and awe-inspiring partnership is with the grand dame of fashion herself, Vivienne Westwood. Melissa shoes are available in Toronto at Imelda, Balisi, Little Burgundy, Due West/Next Door and Dew.

Here are some of my favourites from the Fall 2009 collection:

Melissa Kali Pink Flock $145

Melissa Kali Flock $145

Melissa Vinyl III Purple Flock $115

Melissa Vinyl III Flock $115

Melissa Vivienne Westwood Anglomania LadyDragon II $165

Melissa Vivienne Westwood Anglomania LadyDragon II $165

Melissa Vivienne Westwood Anglomania Ultragirl II $145

Melissa Vivienne Westwood Anglomania Ultragirl II $145

— Jodi Goulart

2 thoughts on “Hello! My Name Is Melissa

  1. Hi Jodi,

    Great blog! I’m actually wearing a pair of Melissas right now and I (well..me and my feet) couldn’t agree more. Glad to hear you’re also hooked!

  2. Hi Jodi,

    I love your favourite picks! Its nice to see colour for once! And in a classy, sexy way!
    I saw Melissa for the first time at one of the stores you mentioned.. and when i tried them on.. i fell in love to!

Leave a Reply

